Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Hursthouse 2010 Abortion

The remains of the Temple of Jupiter in the port

west of the pier was built with the remains of the Temple of Zeus between 1746 and 1763 on the initiative of King Charles Sebastian of Bourbon.

For a long time was accused of the massacre of Bishop Lorenzo Giorgenti Gioieni, a fact contradicted by the philologist and Palillo Agrigento Angelo Giuseppe Castellana by the archaeologist who had conducted research argue that more accurate Gioieni wrote to Charles III in 1746 asking permission for the construction of a new port at San Leone.

Charles III was adamant and entrusted the task of designing the engineer. Salvatore Lanza, while the Count was the first superintendent Juan Filangeri general work.

The pier in question is the old one, I mean the one near the Tower of Charles V.

It is well known that in the nineteenth century, during the construction of west pier (the one next to the captaincy, which includes the beach), was created from the same blocks that were simply moved.

Therefore in the past the remains of the Temple of Zeus were searched in the old pier and no one had ever gone to look for the new pier.

Or if anyone is interested, not disclosed.

E 'certain that the sailors knew the area and perhaps also responsible for the captaincy of ignorance that perhaps have never made any report to the competent authorities (supervision) as the law requires.

few months ago Mark Falzone, scientific technical operator for Cultural Heritage, announced that many of the Temple of Zeus ruins are still visible in the west pier of the port of Porto Empedocle.

In October during a meeting in the temple of Zeus Beste Prof. 's Institute Germanic Archaeology of Rome, said he knew nothing of these remains.

So at his request a visit was organized within the port following informal request to the Capitanieria who provided the assistance of an officer for reconnaissance.

On the way to the port the professor revealed that according to his investigations in situ lacked traces of 18 columns and therefore in his opinion that the temple was left unfinished.

After seeing the ruins of the temple, which are still incredibly interesting architectural details, the professor withdrew the points of view because the missing remains were evident.

The professor was well aware that the temple was used as a quarry to the port. However, it had always been told that there was nothing.

So it is ironic that it was never carried out a survey of the remains within the port.

Prof. Beste pointed out that the vision remains partially covered by sea water was extremely important for his work and expressed gratitude for the valuable information .

On the occasion of Gregorian and subsequently in of the initiatives organized for the tenth anniversary inclusion of the Valley of the Temples nell'Heritage List - UNESCO confirmed that it had recognized the remains of the temple.

This has aroused particular interest among archaeologists present and in particular the Prof Mertens (one of the leading experts in classical archeology of the World) which agreed on the opportunity to affix the archaeological restrictions.

With the awareness of the enormous difficulties to recover from marine erosion and at the same time the need to protect them from man.

D'altrocanto the remains of the Temple of Zeus in situ are in poor condition and subject to erosion, but thanks to the archaeological restrictions, are protected by man.

Pure Temple remains thrown into the sea from predecessors, ignorant and irresponsible, they deserve a constraint that does not now possess.

Beyond which may be of importance in terms of history would be a tremendous resource for attract tourists and travelers in the city of Porto Empedocles.

E 'adoperasi urgent to protect the important resource in order to prevent workers in particular that - with the future restructuring of the port - the remains of the temple disappear completely.

The responsibilities of this whole mess will be in the hands of the local ruling class, regional and national level and, of course, to a greater extent in the hands of those who have the duty to protect, recover, preserve and promote cultural heritage, environmental and landscape.

In this regard it is essential to ask how one can reconcile the protection of cultural enhance their value with the placing of a regasification plant in Puerto Porto Empedocles.

0 comments:

Post a Comment